Practice & Diploma

Your practice is at your own pace

To learn the tea ceremony, you regularly go to your tea school which is usually at the teacher’s home: It is common for you to practice a series of actions to make tea until you are able to do so naturally. I want to learn manners, I'm interested in art and history of Japan, I like kimono, I want to do tea things and enjoy tea gatherings... The purposes of people who want to learn tea ceremony are varied, but a wide range of knowledge is naturally acquired by accumulative practice. The Kobori-Enshu-ryu has more than seventy kinds of tea ceremonies. Variations of the tea ceremonies are endless depending on the seasons of the year, the structure of tea rooms, the tools used for the ceremony and other factors. Being able to learn all the points and become familiar with the story of the tools, the history, and now to do chaji and chakai, can almost be said to be the goal of learning the tea ceremony. People who received an introduction to our school start from the step by step practices such as the method of bowing, manners in the tea room, the way of folding fukusa (silk wrapper) and chakin (linen cloth), and handling the utensils which serving the tea. According to the degree of proficiency, a diploma is awarded by the head master.


It is possible to obtain the Shihan (teacher) Diploma in about five years, but the average is about ten years. Each diploma is authorized to be issued only by iemoto (the head of the school).

  • Nyu-mon



  • Sho-den



  • Chu-den



  • Oku-den



  • Kai-den



  • Shihan


    Shihan is a permission by iemoto for you to be admitted as a teacher after having mastered all the points. In addition, you can belong to iemoto's study group to learn more deeply the practical manners of tea events.


  • Betsu-den

    (master teacher)